Review : ODY-C Volume 1

Matt FractionODY-C Volume 1

by Matt Fraction, Christian Ward

Goodreads Synopsis:

An eye-searing, mind-bending, gender-shattering epic science fiction retelling of Homer’s Odyssey starting with the end of a great war in the stars and the beginning of a very long journey home for Odyssia and her crew of warriors. The journey to Ithicaa begins HERE, by Matt Fraction (Sex Criminals) and Christian Ward (Infinite Vacation, Olympus).

My Review

5 of 5 Stars – Artwork  

1 of 5 Stars – Story

Averaging at 3 of 5 Stars

 

I am a bit conflicted by this graphic novel for two reasons.  First, this type of art work is my absolute favorite of all time.  It’s incredibly colorful and somewhat abstract in nature.  I don’t just love this type of art work or want it on my walls, I want to be able to draw it myself.  I can even imagine this style and vibrant coloring making great tattoo’s.  Yes, I said it.  I love this art so much I can imagine it in permanent ink on my skin.  To be honest I’m a bit at loss as to how to describe how much I adore the art work and will be checking out the illustrators other work.

So this is when I become conflicted.  It’s not that I didn’t like the story because the tiny tidbits I (think) I understood seemed interesting enough.  The problem came in when after multiple times through (appreciating the artwork in depth) I’m still left with a sense of “What just happened?”  If someone asked me to describe this story and not include my appreciation of the artwork I’d be left blank.  My level of comprehending what’s going on was beyond low.  I admit this could very well be attributed to the fact I’ve not read Homer’s Odyssey.  If you’ve read that novel this would most likely be easier to follow along with.  I may try again after I’ve had a chance to read through the classic, this certainly has motivated me to do just that.

Overall I’m able to recommend this based on the artwork alone, it really is amazing and something I’d love to aspire to in my own creative goals.  If you do pick it up feel free to explain to me what’s going on, I know I have to be missing some key to understanding what’s going on.  Also let me know if you adore the artwork as much as I do!

This eGalley was provided free from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion and I was compensated in no other manner.

 

Leave a Reply

