Review: Don’t Call Me Kit Kat

25082515Don’t Call Me Kit Kat

by K.J. Farnham

Goodreads Synopsis:

Junior high is where things really start to happen. Cliques form and break apart. Couples are made and destroyed. And a reputation is solidified that you won’t ever be able to escape. Everything you do and say, and everyone you spend your time with, matters.

Katie Mills knows that. She gets it. That’s why she tried so hard to get in with the cool girls at school. And why she was so devastated when those efforts found her detained for shoplifting and laughed out of cheer squad tryouts.

But Katie has more to worry about than just fitting in. Her parents are divorced and always fighting. Her sister never has time for her. And her friends all seem to be drifting apart. Even worse? The boy she has a crush on is dating the mean girl at school.

Everything is a mess, and Katie doesn’t feel like she has control over any of it. Certainly not over her weight, which has always topped out at slightly pudgier than normal—at least, according to her mother.

So when she happens to catch one of the popular girls throwing up in the bathroom one day, it sparks an idea. A match that quickly engulfs her life in flames.

Is there any going back once she gets started down this path?

And would she even want to if she could?

My Review:

4 of 5 Stars

Glorious – The Things I Loved

  • This story portrays the reality of an eating disorder incredibly well.  The recovery wasn’t all roses and sunshine either, it made sense.  The struggle was very real and balanced.  I never felt like it was either too dramatic or too ‘perfect’.
  • The struggle to fit in with the scene at school was heartbreaking and done well.  Katie doesn’t exactly know why she wants to be friends with the popular crowd, but she does.  The pain she feels is very relatable.
  • Peer pressure is one of the biggest issues with teens and I appreciated how well it played out through the book.  I instantly saw how the social scene impacted Katie’s self worth and in turn the progression of her illness.

Glorious Panic – Things I’m on the fence with

  • The issues with the parents drove me nuts.  Almost from the very beginning of the book I had a progressive wish to smack Katie’s Mom upside her head.  I quickly wanted to do the very same thing with her father.  These issues aren’t smoothed over by any means but I do feel they weren’t addressed enough.  One issue with her mother which I found abhorrent was only briefly mentioned.
  • The event at the party which I can’t go into because of spoilers but once you’ve read may understand.  In a way it was dealt with but it was never described as what it almost was.
  • For me the characters and scenarios that took place did not match ‘middle school’ age at all.  I admit this may be because I’m older.  That being said, a lot of the interaction between the characters felt much older and more mature than the age given.

Panic – The things I could have done without

  • The eating disorder and it’s symptoms were described perfectly.  Some of the treatment and therapy was described fairly well.  My problem came in some of the details. I can’t say specifically because spoilers but there were a few things that took place which in reality would have never happened.  Perhaps because of my own history with mental illness I picked up on this more.  For me, it completely jarred me from the story.
  • The very last horrible event which is a combination of the issue I have above and finding it fairly unnecessary.  The same result could have come from any number of different scenarios and this felt far too dramatic for me.

Resources

The following links can provide more information about eating disorders.

National Institute of Mental Health on Eating Disorders

9 Eating Disorder Myths

National Eating Disorders Association

This eGalley was provided free from the author through Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion and I was compensated in no other manner.

ButtonXBT

Leave a Reply

