Review: Clouded Sky

25060087Clouded Sky (Earth & Sky #2) 

(Click here for Review of Earth and Sky, Book #1)

by Megan Crewe

Goodreads Synopsis:

When seventeen-year-old Skylar escapes the time-bending Enforcers who secretly control Earth, her troubles have just begun. She and her friend Win take refuge on Win’s home space station with his fellow rebels, but the fate of Skylar’s planet still spins out of her control.

To avoid detection, Skylar poses as the Earthling “pet” of Win’s rival, an arrogant boy named Jule. Homesick and faced with a cool reception from the other rebels, she throws herself into the group’s mission: assembling a weapon to disable Earth’s restrictive time field. Gradually, Skylar’s skill for detail gains respect—even from Jule, who is more vulnerable than he lets on.

Yet challenges spring from every side. Not only must Sky navigate the muddy waters of romance, but suspicions of betrayal grow among the rebels as their work narrowly misses sabotage.

In the latest in Megan Crewe’s Earth & Sky series, can Skylar expose the traitor before time runs out and Earth is destroyed?

My Review:

4 of 5 Stars

The Glorious

  • Getting to see this whole other side to Jule was really interesting.  I admit I love to see the layers behind what appears to be the ‘bad guy’ even if it’s a touch cliche.  It’s cliche for a reason!
  • The mystery of possible betrayal and suspense of trying to pull off something so important.  There were quite a few scary moments.
  • Epic feels related to the culture surrounding ‘humans’.  I thought it was incredibly interesting the level of discrimination between the two peoples often born out of pure ignorance.  It’s a food for though of how often we do this in reality as a society.
  • While somewhat predictable, the twist!  I admit I kind of wanted this to go a bit of a different route but Skylar actually surprised me here even if I wasn’t too shocked by the twist itself.
  • The Gut Wrenching Ending, Left me Gasping for Oxygen Ending.  I loved it.  I almost hated that I loved it.  This ending left me with a deep pain of needing the next book in my hands instantly.  This ending will have me randomly thinking of it for months until I can read the next book.  The pain is real.  (October 13th is the next book!)

Not so Glorious

  • If you are a Walking Dead fan you might understand the phrase “Stay in the House Carl!”.  I say this because I was constantly feeling the same eye rolling frustration with Skye.  I understood she wanted to help and had this insane drive to do the things.  Perhaps if some of those things she’d done hadn’t turned into near or complete disasters it would have been better.
  • Romance, ah, sweet, weird, awkward, romance.  This ones on the fence for me because I admit I kind of liked the romantic aspect because of my squishy girl heart and all of that.  But it also just felt weird especially at the end.  I felt like raising my hand and alerting the media to the fact that girls can have friendships with boys without it turning into more.  I think friendship would have served Skye so much more but I also see how that fit into the story.
  • The ending.  I know, this is above because I also loved it.  I can’t even say why I found it not so glorious because spoilers.  It left me with eyes wide, gasping, and barely able to comprehend everything else going on.  I need to know where this is going!

377525

 

Leave a Reply

