Review: Treasure Darkly

treasure darklyTreasure Darkly

by Jordan Elizabeth Mierek

Goodreads Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Clark Treasure assumes the drink he stole off the captain is absinthe… until the chemicals in the liquid give him the ability to awaken the dead.

A great invention for creating perfect soldiers, yes, but Clark wants to live as a miner, not a slave to the army—or the deceased. On the run, Clark turns to his estranged, mining tycoon father for help. The Treasures welcome Clark with open arms, so he jumps at the chance to help them protect their ranch against Senator Horan, a man who hates anyone more powerful than he.

Sixteen-year-old Amethyst Treasure loathes the idea of spending the summer away from her bustling city life to rot on her father’s ranch, but when a handsome young man shows up claiming to be her secret half-brother, her curiosity is piqued. He’s clever, street smart, and has no qualms jumping into the brawl between the Treasures and Horans. Caught in the middle, Horan kidnaps Amethyst, and all she gets is this lousy bullet through her heart.

When Clark brings her back to life, however, the real action starts, and Amethyst joins him in his fight against the Horan clan—whatever the cost. Defeating the Horans may seem easy at first, but going up against men with the same fighting vengeance as Clark, and a Senator with power he’s obtained by brainwashing the masses?

Well, Amethyst’s boring summer at home has turned into an adventure on the run, chock full of intrigue, danger, love, and a mysterious boy named Clark.

My Review:

4.5 of 5 Stars

I am absolutely fascinated with the steampunk genre but sometimes have a hard time finding fiction I really like.  I really adored many of the themes in this book.  It’s written from an older era and the clothing is described really well.  The dresses and corsets that Amethyst wears sound amazing.  What surprised me is I was even loving the romance involved in this.  Perhaps because it went outside of many of the cliche romance novels which aren’t for me.  This felt a bit rougher and intense without the ‘insta love’ though there was ‘insta lust’.  It seemed far more realistic to me.

The action completely immersed me in the book.  I went all over in the book.  I really liked both Clark and Amethyst but did get annoyed with some of her behavior.  This irritation wasn’t a fault with the book however, it fit in with the plot perfectly.  She’s meant to be slightly abrasive and stuck up because it’s part of her personality and how she’s grown up.  I often had the same reaction I have in the Walking Dead with Carl.  “Stay in the house Amethyst!”  The constant need for Clark to go off saving her is really the only part of the book that didn’t sit well for me.  It got old and a bit repetitive and felt a bit silly, like Clark is some kind of super hero with a damsel in distress.

Then, the ending – woah.  I did not expect that.  I was also so immersed in the book I was completely unprepared for the ending at all.  I started reading the acknowledgements and became somewhat confused.  I may have sworn very loudly causing my fiance to look startled and worried.  This is all alleged of course.

Over all I really recommend this if you like steampunk, western, romance, mystery, action or any combination of the above.  The story meets so combines so many different genre’s and so well that even if you don’t like all of them you’ll still enjoy the book.  I am very eagerly awaiting the next in the series.

Leave a Reply

