Movie Review: Wild

wild

Wild

IMDB Synopsis:

A chronicle of one woman’s 1,100-mile solo hike undertaken as a way to recover from a recent catastrophe.

Trailer

Wild was an interesting movie for me because it left me really thinking about so many things.

My Review:

4 of 5 Stars

I expected this movie to be a bit introspective because that was part of the premise. Going in I knew Cheryl was taking this journey because of something going on in her life though I was clear on what that was. I’d also read some fairly negative reviews about the book (which I’ve not read yet) so I was a little skeptical. While I wouldn’t agree that her choices were healthy the movie played out in a way that I understood why she made them. For me she was relatable because of some of the same horrible choices I’ve made in my own life.

By the time the movie was over I was wondering if I too needed to on some major hike to ‘figure stuff out’. Now having seen the movie movie I’m wanting to read the book to see if I agree with the reviews I’ve seen or not. This story is thought provoking and introspective. If you want action or thrilling moments, even drama – it’s not the right pick. I also think having some kind of knowledge about psychology with traumatic events will help. I’m wondering if a lot of the negative reviews about the book are misunderstandings about the content. Unless you understand on some level why someone might start making these unhealthy choices it seems a bit over the top.

In the end the biggest reason I’m rating this as I am (aside from the great acting) is how much it’s made me think. I love thought provoking material and this fits into that category perfectly for me. I highly recommend it if that’s something you enjoy as well

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Wild

  1. One of my friends read this a while back and urged me to read it. At the time, I wasn’t really interested and I don’t think I would have enjoyed it either as I probably wouldn’t have been able to relate. Now that I’m a little older though and have made some unsound choices of my own I think I can appreciate this book/movie so much more. I too love thought provoking material and your review has made me want to read/watch this even more now 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

