Top Ten Tuesday – My Most Anticipated Books for 2015

toptentuesday

I’m joining in on the top ten Tuesday meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish – this weeks top ten books I’m anticipating the release of for 2015.  At first I really couldn’t think of any – completely stumped.  There are so many books already published that I don’t usually look for upcoming titles.  Add to that my tendency to not read a series until at least a few of the books are published – I just don’t keep track!  I had to do quite a bit of research for this one but I found quite a few I’m excited for.

  1. Library of Souls (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #3) by Ransom Riggs (Sept 22nd) – it’s weird for me to list this because I’ve not read the first two books yet but I just have this intense feeling I’ll love them.  I usually like at least a few books to be out in a series before I want to read them – the waiting struggle is too much!
  2. Shadows of Self (Mistborn #5) by Brandon Sanderson (No date.. yet) – I’ve read the first three books in this series and have waited on the fourth as it’s in a different time period.  I may dive into it once number five is out just because I love this universe so much.
  3. Time for the Lost (The Call to Search Everywhen #3) by Chess Desalls (November) – I’ve read both the first and second of this series and really would like to know what happens next.  The ending of the second left me hanging!
  4. Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things by Jenny Lawson (Sept 22nd) – I am always interested in books that talk about mental illness especially in a positive light.  Mental illness with some humor and I’m game, I’m super excited.  Plus the cover is adorable.
  5. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon – I’m lucky enough to have this as an ARC from Netgalley.  I’m super excited to read it as it’s a new theme in a book.  Also because with my own autoimmune stuff (though I’m not quite at bubble stage) I can relate to how dangerous the environment around you can potentially be!
  6. Go Set a Watchman (To Kill a Mockingbird #2) (July 14th ) by Harper Lee – When I saw this my jaw literally dropped.  My immense love for To Kill a Mockingbird almost makes me hesitant for this book.  How can it possibly live up to my expectations?  I’m still extremely excited!
  7. The Girl in the Spider’s Web (Millennium #4) (September 1st) by David Lagercrantz, Stieg Larsson (Creator) – This is another series I’ve not officially even started yet.  But, I did pick up the first two books in the series at a thrift store recently so it’s on my list.  Having the fourth coming out soon will get me pumped to get going on this series even more. 
  8. A Madness So Discreet (October 6th) by by Mindy McGinnis – Again this one deals a bit with mental illness and psychology but also mystery and crime.  I’m very interested to see how this story plays out.
  9. The Aeronaut’s Windlass (The Cinder Spires #1) (September 29th) by Jim Butcher – I’m pretty much willing to try almost anything by Jim Butcher, I’ve always loved his books.  The Dresden files is one of my favorites even though I’m not completely caught up with it yet.
  10. This Monstrous Thing (September 22nd) by Mackenzi Lee  – I love all things steampunk and this sounds like a much darker take on this sub-genre than I’m used to.  It’s also an interesting Frankenstein spin off that makes me incredibly curious.  Steampunk horror classic spinoff?  I’m in!
10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – My Most Anticipated Books for 2015

    • I am trying to incorporate a lot more steampunk in my reading, I love the genre and style! I agree that a combination of the horror of Frankenstein and steampunk has to be interesting.

      Like

    • I’m really hoping Go Set a Watchmen meets all my expectations for it to be awesome. I am a little nervous it can’t possibly live up to To Kill a Mockingbird – we’ll see!

      Like

  1. Definitely excited for Everything, Everything, A Madness So Discreet, and This Monstrous Thing. Also, I had NO idea that Furiously Happy was about mental illness! To be honest, I didn’t know WHAT it was about, but I assumed maybe rodents 😉 . SO glad I picked it up at BEA now, thanks for the heads up on what it was about!! Great list, I hope you enjoy these!

    Like

Leave a Reply

