Review: Earth and Sky

17875055Earth and Sky

by Megan Crewe

Goodreads : Amazon : Barnes & Noble

Goodreads Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Skylar has been haunted for as long as she can remember by fleeting yet powerful sensations that something is horribly wrong. But despite the panic attacks tormenting her, nothing ever happens, and Sky’s beginning to think she’s crazy. Then she meets a mysterious, otherworldly boy named Win and discovers the shocking truth her premonitions have tapped into: our world no longer belongs to us. For thousands of years, Earth has been at the mercy of alien scientists who care nothing for its inhabitants and are using us as the unwitting subjects of their time-manipulating experiments. Win belongs to a rebel faction seeking to put a stop to it, and he needs Skylar’s help–but with each shift in the past, the very fabric of reality is unraveling, and soon there may be no Earth left to save.

My Review:

4 of 5 Stars

I had some trouble getting into the story at the very beginning.  The details of the story trickle in slowly at first which left me a bit confused at various behavior from both Skylar and Win.  This made it hard for me to connect with them and the struggle they faced.  As the book progressed more of these details were fleshed out giving every element of the story more depth.  By the end of the book I felt very connected to both Skylar and Win though I did wish I’d gotten more of a peek at some of the other characters.  My favorite part though was the time travel mostly in part due to how much there was of it.  Every time jump felt very authentic and real with very significant points in history being visited.  I also really appreciated how well Skylar’s anxiety is portrayed.  While it isn’t specifically named anxiety or panic attacks it was very similar.  I became very curious about her method of coping with this and may try it myself!  I highly recommend this for anyone who is a fan of time travel and young adult fiction.

This eGalley was provided free from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion and I was compensated in no other manner.

Leave a Reply

