Review: The Tethering

24646108The Tethering (The Tethering #1)

by Megan O’Russell

Source: Xpresso Book Tours

Goodreads Synopsis:

All sixteen-year-old Jacob Evans wants is to win the heart of Emilia Gray, but with order in the magical world crumbling, war threatening, and Emilia’s boyfriend living across the hall, he may never have the chance.

Jacob Evans loses everything he has ever known and is tossed into a world of magic. The Dragons, a group of rebel wizards, are threatening to expose the existence of magic to humans. Jacob is determined to find a way to fit into Emilia’s family, but as his powers grow, so does the danger. With the death toll mounting, Jacob is accused of acts of rebel terrorism and must fight to stay in a world he’s only just beginning to discover.

When Emilia’s life is threatened, Jacob must risk everything to save her. Does he have the power to rescue her in time? And what could their survival cost?

My Review:

4 of 5 Stars

This book took me quite a bit to really get into.  It’s not that I didn’t like it, it just felt slow.  The characters were interesting and I appreciated getting to know them but it wasn’t really grabbing my attention. About midway through the book this really began to change and continued to do so more quickly toward the end.  The action became so intense I could not put it down and I may have had a very late dinner that night because of it!  I really like the world and every single character in the book.  I think the only character that slightly irritated me was Emilia because of her back and forth behavior.  Sometimes the things she did made very little sense to me, especially when it came to Dexter, her boyfriend and Jacob.

I was incredibly wrapped up in this and couldn’t put it down.  What I liked more though was how the ending didn’t feel like a cliff hanger.  It left quite a lot open to speculation and at the same time had a brief sense of calm. Perhaps an “Okay, that’s done.. What’s next?” kind of vibe.  Another aspect I really enjoyed is how it mixed non magical people with the wizards and witches, much like in Harry Potter.  I highly recommend this book for any fan of fantasy and magic as it’s deeply immersive in both.

This was provided free from the publisher through Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.  This in no way effected my opinion and I was compensated in no other manner.

ButtonXBT

Leave a Reply

