Review: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly

17185496

 

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly

by Stephanie Oakes

Source: First To Read  

Goodreads Synopsis:

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust. And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it’s clear that Minnow knows something—but she’s not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

This debut novel is a hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in oneself.

My Review:

4 of 5 Stars

I was completely confused at the beginning with this story.  Everything seemed a bit ridiculous and over the top until ever so slowly details began adding up.  The more that Minnow Bly reveals the more the story comes together and my empathy for her began growing quickly. I loved watching her grow as a person, learning about the real world outside of the cult.  I had anticipated to be somewhat bothered by this book on an emotional level and I won’t say that it didn’t happen to some extent.  I do feel though that it was both graphic enough and tame enough to be able to appreciate the horror without going over the edge into obscene.  I don’t think this is a book everyone will enjoy, especially those that can’t handle stores involving child abuse.  If you are able to move past some of those issues it an interesting although fictional take on child abuse, personal growth, and even faith.

This was provided free from the publisher through First to Read in exchange for an honest review.  This in no way effected my opinion and I was compensated in no other manner.

 

4 thoughts on “Review: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly

  1. Wow, I love this. I wasn’t syre whether to read this book or not. Very skeptical about it, actually. But I will be sure to add it to my TBR and buy it later on =)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ohhh this is so, so good to hear! I am starting this one next, and I have been nervous because it is one of my most anticipated books of the year (and you know how the build up in your head can be!) but I am so excited now, because I think all those concepts are things I will really enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

