Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Things I’ve Learned by Blogging

toptentuesday

I’m joining in on the top ten Tuesday meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish – this weeks top ten books is a completely free choice!  The topic I’ve chose is 10 things I’ve learned about book blogging (and blogging in general).

  1. Learn from blogs you really admire but don’t get overwhelmed by them.  I can’t imagine many start out with a thousands of followers, a gorgeous designed blog, everything right where it should be – all of it just working.  It’s a process – you learn by doing.
  2. Figure out your own goals and don’t compare them to others.  Someone else may want to post every single day and that works for them.  You may only want to post once or twice a week, that’s perfectly fine.  The goal is to enjoy this, if you struggle all the time I can’t see how that would be fun.
  3. Organization is important but everyone does it differently according to their own needs.  You can get tips from other bloggers but it’s important to arrange things to fit your own plan.  Often I’ve tried to follow what other people are doing exactly and it hasn’t worked for me.
  4. You will make mistakes and that’s okay.  Even after only doing this for a few months which feels like nothing compared to some others I’m starting to realize that mistakes are fairly normal.  I learn from them and I’m constantly adjusting things to fit what I want or need.
  5. Socialize with other bloggers via features, events, etc.  I’m not an incredibly social person by nature – in fact I’m practically a hermit.  It’s incredibly difficult for me to communicate with others -especially people who have blogs I’m completely in awe of. Not only does the socializing help your own ratings, it can help others ratings.  And that’s just a bonus of meeting some incredibly talented people.
  6. Take the risk of reaching out to publishers and authors.  So far I’ve only really used websites and haven’t contacted anyone beyond that, but I hope to in the future.
  7. You can’t do all the things, it’s impossible.  Even someone with hardly anything else going on can’t possibly do all the things.  I’m still paying for the over excitement I had when I first started blogging but I’m determined to catch up.  It’s one thing to be able to say no to others, but you also need to be able to say no to yourself.
  8. Don’t go against your own feelings, values, beliefs, etc.  As an example I wouldn’t host a blog tour for a book that I felt portrayed mental illness in a very bad light.  I’m also having to examine some other types of posts that I may or may not want to take part in.  It’s important to figure out what works for you.
  9. Do other things than reading and blogging.  Your blog is not your life or your full time ‘job’ or ‘hobby’.  I think it’s true that spending anywhere near all of your free time doing one thing is the surest way to burn out.  Take a break, watch TV, play games, etc.
  10. Don’t judge your old posts.  I’m having a lot of fun with my blog and I’m learning so much in such a short period of time.  I can’t imagine what I’ll know in another five or six months compared to now.  That being said, I look at some of my first posts and cringe.  It’s part of it though, you learn by doing.
16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Things I’ve Learned by Blogging

  1. I love this list! There’s such a lot to learn from blogging, I’ve been doing this for about 3 and a half years now, and I’m constantly making mistakes but learning from them. I’m constantly changing how often I post and it’s taken me years (literally) to come up with a posting routine that I feel comfortable with. One of the things I love about blogging is how it constantly teaches me new things, it’s always evolving and developing which keeps things new and exciting a lot of the time!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think things change often because we as people change. What I like right now may be incredibly different from what I like three years from now. Plus our situations change. I’m super excited to learn more as I continue to blog – it’s been so much fun and I think I’m getting more out of it than I thought possible. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

    • I love the idea of branching out and getting real books but not so much the actual practice of it. I’m not even entirely sure how to go about it. I do hope to figure it out once I’m caught up from my ‘over excited sign up for all the things’ phase. LOL

      Like

  2. So many of these are definitely words to live by and pointers you do discover along the way in this exciting journey! I’ve been through the rough period of excessive hype and ARC requesting that it definitely does take a toll on your reading enjoyment (especially if you’re a mood reader too). Retrospectively, I think it might have been a rite of passage to go through tougher [early] blogging days LOL.

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great tips! I struggle with the social aspect all the time. I like to meet people and to talk but I’m a pretty shy person. I try to get myself out there but I don’t think I’m doing it all that well yet. I’ll have to take your advice and be more social!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. These are great pointers. 🙂 One thing I learned about blogging is that you should do it first and foremost for yourself, not for likes or followers or comments. These things are nice, but they are all secondary. I think blogging/writing, especially as a hobby, is meant to be enjoyed. Obsessing over your site’s readership and statistics and posting frequencies and deadlines takes the fun out of it. I’m pertaining to personal blogs here; business blogs are another matter. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good point! I admit to getting a bit hooked on the numbers from time to time but I’m trying to pay less attention to those things. I’m in the process of working out a posting schedule that works for me. Even with a business blog there has to be some kind of balance or it will just lead to burn out.

      Like

  5. This is a fantastic list! I think most of us would feel better about our blogs if we didn’t try to measure them with other people’s blogs. Everyone does it differently, which is a big part of the fun

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

