Review: Hand Drawn Jokes for Smart Attractive People

Hand Drawn Jokes for Smart Attractive People

by Matthew Diffee

Source: ARC from Netgalley

Pending Publish Date: May 26th 2015

Rating: 2 Stars

Summary (Goodreads):

Finally, a book that’s not for everyone! From award-winning New Yorker cartoonist Matthew Diffee—editor of The Rejection Collection and the “de facto leader of a young generation of cartoonists”(The Wall Street Journal)—a hilarious mix of cartoons, visual riffs, and illustrated one liners that will appeal to anyone who is beautiful and intelligent.

Review:

I think in some ways this is a book that would work really well as a coffee table book – something to picked up now and then and glanced through.  It reminded me a lot of cartoons I used to read in the New Yorker while visiting my grandparents.  I think what turned me off in the end though was seemingly direct insults to the reader.  I understand these were meant in jest and sarcasm but for me it was off putting.  There were quite a few jokes within it that just made me roll my eyes. Evidently according to this I’m neither smart nor attractive.  That being said I can see where someone with a different sense of humor than my own would be able to appreciate this more.  It’s also not something to be read cover to cover – so perhaps that is influencing my general perspective.

 FTC Disclosure: I received this free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  This in no way influenced my opinion of the book and I was provided with no other compensation.  

Leave a Reply

