Review: While My Sister Sleeps

While My Sister Sleeps

By Barbara Delinsky

Source: Friend Loan

Goodreads Synopsis: 

Molly and Robin Snow are sisters, and like all sisters they share a deep bond that sustains them through good times and bad. Their careers are flourishing—Molly is a horticulturist and Robin is a world-class runner—and they are in the prime of their lives. So when Molly receives the news that Robin has suffered a massive heart attack, she couldn’t be more shocked. At the hospital, the Snow family receives a grim prognosis: Robin may never regain consciousness.

As Robin’s parents and siblings struggle to cope, the complex nature of their relationship is put to the ultimate test. Molly has always lived in Robin’s shadow and her feelings for her have run the gamut, from love to resentment and back. The last time they spoke, they argued. But now there is so much more at stake. Molly’s parents fold under the devastating circumstances, and her brother retreats into the cool reserve that is shattering his own family. It’s up to Molly to make the tough decisions, and she soon makes discoveries that destroy some of her most cherished beliefs about the sister she thought she knew.

My Review:

3.5 of 5 Stars

I somehow got stuck without having anything on hand to read and a horrible bout of insomnia when a friend handed me this book to read.  It’s not something I would have picked out myself but I ended up liking it.  It’s a quick read though emotional.  Through the entire book I continued to have more and more empathy for Molly.  The relationships are built upon each other as more back story is given.  The world surrounding these characters is very distant – it’s very secondary to the people.  Places the hospital, home, work, are used background to explore more of the dynamic involving each person in the story.  My favorite part of this was how we moved between perspectives, it helped me have empathy from more than one view point.  I was also able to see things differently and with more of an open mind.  Because of this I wasn’t able to entirely take any one side.  If I grew annoyed with a character because of a certain mindset or behavior.  It was eventually explained why they did what they did.  If you really enjoy character building over world building, this book will work for you really well.

Leave a Reply

