Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Books I Probably Won’t Read

toptentuesday

I’m joining in on the top ten Tuesday meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish – this weeks top ten books I will probably never read.  This ones a bit hard for me because I’m pretty open to at least trying almost everything.  There are very few books I just find too boring or long but quite a few I don’t like for other reasons.  You’ll see a theme in books I won’t read – most of these I won’t read because of my own values or mental health.  This isn’t an attack on anyone who does enjoy these books – just my thoughts.

  1. Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James – I try to be open minded about most literature but I simply do not find this story to be romantic or anything but a glorified example of domestic abuse.  Which isn’t to say I’m judging anyone that can see it as being romantic – just.. not me.
  2. Asking for It by Lilah Pace – Basically the same as Fifty Shades. (I do want to read this book by the same name though.)
  3. To Train up a Child by Michael Pearl – I’m not against spanking but I am against child abuse – while I’ve not read it to find out if it for sure promotes abuse, I’ve read enough reviews saying it does to stay far, far away.
  4. It by Stephen King – I was for whatever reason allowed to see this movie when I was fairly young and it freaked me out for years. All the nopes.
  5. Geralds Game by Stephen King – I feel a bit bad listing two books from him because I do like him as an author, but I’ve been advised by someone I trust very much that this book will trigger me.
  6. Any Book by Dr. Phil – Sorry Dr. Phil, I’m just not a fan.
  7. Guinness Book(s) of World Records – I’ve always found these a bit silly, kudos to those on journeys to get in these books but, eh.
  8. Mein Kampf by Adolf Hitler – It may very well be a wonderful and great book, I’ve no idea, it was written by Hitler. I try to avoid books written by leaders of genocide.  All the nopes.
  9. Coming out Straight by Richard Cohen – I can’t even begin to describe the vast amount of reasons I won’t touch this book.  I could rant but I won’t.  Not enough nopes in existence.
  10. Anything by V.C. Andrews – This ones a bit on the fence for me because I have read some of her books in the past.  That being said, at least right now, I find a lot of her plot themes to be fairly triggering.
12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Books I Probably Won’t Read

    • Clowns just freak me out. Even as a child I just thought it was weird for grown ups to have weird make up and strange costumes on. Cirque Du Soleil is different perhaps because it’s more artistic and somewhat geared to adults instead of (supposedly) entertaining children?

      Like

  1. I saw fifty shades on quite a few lists! You’d be surprised on Mein Kampf, I’ve known people who’ve read it just out of curiosity or to try and ‘understand’ Adolf Hitler’s thinking on some level. Makes no sense to me though.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Weekly Wrap Up (5/4 – 5/10) | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

