Review: Fire & Chasm

Fire & Chasm

by Chelsea M. Campbell

Source: Netgalley

Goodreads Synopsis:

Azeril is a ward of the Church, and their most cunning weapon. By day he hides in plain sight as a student, but with his beloved obsidian knife, he also kills wizards. Az has no memory of his life before the Church, until one night, when a wizard recognizes him from his past. The killer in Az never misses his mark, but he can’t destroy the only potential link to his life before this. For the first time, Az has a lead on who he used to be—if only he could escape the watchful eye of the High Priest long enough to investigate.

Azeril discovers that the line between good and evil—the primal forces of the Fire and the Chasm—is as shifting as his own moral compass. And the truth about who he is will put his entire world in danger.

My Review:

3.5 of 4 Stars

The story starts out fairly dark, explaining how Az is a weapon of the Church.  I’ll admit for a while I was a bit turned off from him as a character but as it all unfolded you begin to see more and more sides to him as a character.  That being said, some of the other characters were kind of ‘eh’. Leona especially, with her general attitude and well, acting like a teenage girl.  I suppose I can’t really fault her for that.   I really enjoyed the fight against good and evil and how it wasn’t really worded in that manner.  What sort of surprised me though is the very close resemblance of this story to that of many religions which have a ‘heaven’ and ‘hell’.  I’m a bit on the fence about whether or not I liked this aspect or not.  I didn’t even really make the connection until the ending, so it’s not overt by any means.

The world building is okay but I do feel it could have been a bit better.  There were aspects to the world which I never felt I got enough information about.  In the complete opposite though, some things were just explained.. too much.  Some of these things kept me from rating it higher.  However, toward the end it really grabbed my emotions.  Perhaps I’m just the type to cry in very tense unpredictable situations, but it did have me tearing up.  What’s even better about this book – it doesn’t leave me with a ‘cliff hanger’ leading into the next book of the series wrap up.  I really appreciated a stand alone young adult book.  But, if by chance, the author felt like giving us another – well I’d be obliged to read about what happens next.  (Hint, Hint Chelsea M. Campbell)  In summary, even if I had some reservations about the world building and ending – I really enjoyed it.

 FTC Disclosure: I received this free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  This in no way influenced my opinion of the book and I was provided with no other compensation.  

One thought on “Review: Fire & Chasm

  1. Pingback: Weekly Wrap Up (5/4 – 5/10) | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

