Review: D&D: Legends of Baldur’s Gate Vol. 1

Dungeons & Dragons : Legends of Baldur’s Gate Volume 1

by Jim Zub (Writer), Max Dunbar (Artist)

Source: ARC from Netgalley

Pending Publish Date: May 12th 2015

Rating: 5 Stars

Summary:

Graphic novel tie-in to Dungeon’s & Dragon’s new 5th Edition role-playing game! Generations have passed since the original Heroes of Baldur’s Gate saved the city and the Realms. Now a new threat rises and an unlikely group of misfits are thrust into adventure with Minsc, the legendary Ranger do-gooder with a heart of gold, brain of lead, and hamster of pronounced wisdom. (Copied from GoodReads)

Artwork:

I absolutely loved the artwork in this.  Delina’s style is amazing – I’d love to have her outfit!  I was also a big fan of the magical effects, especially at the very beginning with Minsc.  The style of the characters made it fairly obvious to me who was on the ‘good’ side and who most likely wasn’t.  We also can’t forget about the hamster who is adorable.

Review:

I’ll admit I did not expect the immense amount of humor that was everywhere in this story.  I’ll include some of the giggle worthy phrases here and I freely admit I will be using these in daily life from now on.

  • If there is evil to be kicked, I shall be the kicker!
  • Are you okay? Shall we prepare a heroic funeral?

That’s not even close to all of the hilariousness that is throughout the story.  Along with all of the humor though it is an action filled adventure story.  There are a few very surprising twists that I hadn’t seen coming while reading.  Each chapter in the volume had me hooked to move onto the next.  That being said the story line does wrap up fairly nicely at the end of the volume. At the same time it leaves plenty of room for further story line after this adventure – something I’d love to read about!

 FTC Disclosure: I received this free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  This in no way influenced my opinion of the book and I was provided with no other compensation.  

One thought on “Review: D&D: Legends of Baldur’s Gate Vol. 1

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post (4/27 – 5/3) | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

