The Sunday Post (4/20 – 4/26)

This weekly meme is hosted by the Caffeinated Book Reviewer, check out details by clicking the image above.

Personal Updates

This week has been a bit up and down, I’m trying to figure out some health insurance issues which is a headache in itself. I’m also doing some mental preparation for the fiance to be going in for surgery for a reversal of a colostomy.  He’s far more nervous than I am, understandably, so I’m trying to be here for him.

Monday will be the eighth time I’ve seen my new therapist.  The phrase therapy is hard is an incredible understatement to the actual difficulty that it is.  As always, books are getting me through anything and everything.

I also officially got my new bookcase filled with books.  It’s placed right next to my desk with my printer/scanner on top and I love it.  I’m limiting books on this shelf to either staples I keep on hand all the time or books I’ve yet to read but want to soon.  Books I’ve read are getting shuffled to storage.  This sort of breaks my heart but I lack space, so it is what it is.

Last Week Recap

Upcoming this Week

  • All This Time by Tiffani Burnett-Velez (Book Tour, Review, Giveaway)
  • Book Blitz: Wash Me Away (Book Blitz and Giveaway)
  • Llewellyn’s Complete Dictionary of Dreams (Review)
  • Dungeons & Dragons : Legends of Baldur’s Gate Volume 1 (Review)
  • Features – Top Ten Tuesday and Thoughtful Thursday

My Finds Around the Blogosphere

Fiction Addiction – Why I’m (Maybe) Changing Some of My Ratings

Fiction Addiction – What I Did Instead of Changing My Ratings

The Caffeinated Book Reviewer – Organization and Avoiding Burn Out

 

Game of the Week

minecraft_logo_by_alesgot-d5k2ct7

Minecraft really got me started in the voxel based sandbox genre.  I admit I was very wary at first.  It’s  simple blocks and with all of the games available with absolutely amazing 3D models and graphics that seem ultra realistic – why would I enjoy a game that seems so plain?  Honestly I can’t quite describe why I like it, just that I do.  I’m completely addicted.  You can create your own world (with or without the countless amounts of mods and modpacks available) or you can join servers created by other people and play online.  Most often I play on a local map with the fiance via LAN but we are thinking about upgrading to get an online server of our own at some point.

TV Recommendation

dltgbigt0oyayt3nywbbI just started watching iZombie this past week and I’m completely and totally loving it.  The premise is based off of a graphic novel by the same name.  Basically, unlike the zombies of The Walking Dead, Liv is a zombie that actually has control of her.. zombie-ness?  She holds down a job, has social interaction, leads somewhat normal life.  But she has to eat brains.  That’s also not the only unusual thing about her.  You’ll have to watch to find out!  I have heard that the TV show is not very accurate to the book, but since I’ve not read the book (yet) – I don’t have much to say on that.  I highly, highly recommend this if you like zombies and want a whole new spin on the genre.

Song of the Moment

This is a cover by Vicky Nolan.  I absolutely love her voice and often have one or more of her songs on repeat in the background while doing other things.  She doesn’t have a lot of videos on her channel but I love the ones she’s posted – including two of her own originals.

Check out her channel!

4 thoughts on “The Sunday Post (4/20 – 4/26)

  1. I so have been wanting to watch iZombie. I think I will try out an episode tonight. Best wishes for a speedy recovery for your fiancé. That sounds painful and awful and I hope he will be okay soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

