Review: Sometimes I Act Crazy

 

Sometimes I Act Crazy

by Jerold J. Kreisman, Hal Straus

Source: Purchase

Amazon | Goodreads | Barnes & Noble

Goodreads Synopsis:

A source of hope, expert advice, and guidance for people with borderline personality disorder and those who love them. Do you experience frightening, often violent mood swings that make you fear for your sanity? Are you often depressed? Do you engage in self-destructive behaviors such as drug or alcohol abuse, anorexia, compulsive eating, self-cutting, and hair pulling? Do you feel empty inside, or as if you don’t know who you are? Do you dread being alone and fear abandonment? Do you have trouble finishing projects, keeping a job, or forming lasting relationships?
If you or someone you love answered yes to the majority of these questions, there’s a good chance that you or that person suffers from borderline personality disorder, a commonly misunderstood and misdiagnosed psychological problem afflicting tens of millions of people. Princess Diana was one of the most well-known BPD sufferers.
As a source of hope and practical advice for BPD sufferers and those who love them, this new book by Dr. Jerold J. Kreisman and Hal Straus, bestselling authors of I Hate You, Don’t Leave Me, offers proven techniques that help you:

* Manage mood swings
* Develop lasting relationships
* Improve your self-esteem
* Keep negative thoughts at bay
* Control destructive impulses
* Understand your treatment options
* Find professional help

My Review:

5+ Stars

I was first diagnosed with borderline personality disorder as a teenager.  The first book I picked up was I Hate You, Don’t Leave Me by the same authors.  I appreciated the book because it explained a lot of things that I hadn’t understood about myself before.  I now knew why I had a lot of the issues that interfered with my life.  But it painted a very dark picture of what I could do to change any of it, instead quoting statistics that were depressing.

With this follow up book I felt like that dark cloud was completely lifted. This book helped explain symptoms in a much easier to understand fashion, often giving examples.  Theoretical stories are scattered through the book to demonstrate how some of these symptoms might be played out in a real setting.  Instead of stopping with understanding the symptoms the book also provides some treatment options.  I have a well worn copy of this book on my desk and have repurchased it at least three times.  The only way I can describe it for me is that it was life changing.

Helpful Links about Borderline Personality Disorder

Out of the Fog : Information on BPD

10 Things You Discover About Yourself After Diagnoses

One thought on “Review: Sometimes I Act Crazy

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post (4/20 – 4/26) | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

