Top Ten Tuesday – 10 All Time Favorite Authors

toptentuesday

I’m joining in on the top ten Tuesday meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish – this weeks theme is top ten all time favorite authors. These are listed in no real order because I’d have to spend countless hours doing so. Nor is this a complete list – I have way more ‘favorite authors’ but I’m sticking with the ten that pop into my head right now.  I’m also including my favorite (if possible) book by each author.

  1. J.K Rowling – Harry Potter, no more needs to be said.
  2. Stephen King – I prefer his not horribly scary, nightmare inducing novels. Insomnia is a favorite my favorite and one I’ve re read several times. The Stand comes in close second.
  3. Ted Dekker – This is one of the very, very, few authors where I will read anything and everything he will ever -ever –ever publish.  Three is the first book I read from him and got me completely hooked.
  4. John Grisham – His books are great mystery thrillers to read if I’m traveling or want a fast paced book.  His background in law before becoming an author gives his books a refreshing realism.  The Runaway Jury is at the top of my list.
  5. Sark – These books opened up a completely new world for me when I was younger.  I love the style, the art, the motivation that fills them.  Her books are staples for my artistic life. Transformation Soup is an all time favorite of mine.
  6. The_faithful_ga-210Clarissa Pinkola Estes – I’m not a big audio book fan, but I could listen to this woman read the ingredients off a cereal box.  I first heard her audio book The Faithful Gardner and have been completely hooked ever since.
  7. Jodi Picoult – This is another go to author for me, I pretty much know I’ll like any of her books especially if I’m in the mood for epic feels.  My favorite so far has to be My Sisters Keeper .
  8. Clive Cussler – Much like John Grisham – these are books I like to read when I’m traveling and have to use up some hours.  Again like Grisham – the author pulls a lot of information for his books from things he’s lived in real life.  I don’t think I can pick a favorite because I’d have to pick one of the current 23 books in the Dirk Pitt series.
  9. C.S. Lewis – I’ve only recently really begun enjoying his books which I find odd because I absolutely love them.  I’d been exposed to them
    before but I guess it didn’t click for me.  The Narnia series in chronological order is my favorite but most likely because it’s what I’m currently reading.
  10. Frank E. Peretti – I started reading books from him when I was in my early twenties and it put a whole new spin on religious fiction for me.  I always describe these as somewhat Christian Horror and at least to me, could be read even if you aren’t Christian at all.  I’d say This Present Darkness is my favorite because it really opened my eyes to other Christian authors and a whole new genre I hadn’t been aware of.
11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 10 All Time Favorite Authors

    • I almost didn’t include them because I really wanted to go with authors that might be less known. But they are way up there at the top of my list so it felt wrong to not have them in. I’m pretty sure both are popular today – I’ve seen J.K. Rowling quite a few times.

      Like

    • J.K. Rowling made a lot of lists it seems, and for good reason! I’ve added so many new books to my TBR list today I think it’s glaring at me. Glad you liked it – I really tried to add some of my favorite but less well known authors.

      Like

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post (4/20 – 4/26) | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

