Review: Mistborn Series

The Final Empire ( Mistborn #1)

Well of Ascension (Mistborn #2)

Hero of Ages (Mistborn #3)

by Brandon Sanderson

Source: Library

Goodreads Summary for #1:

Once, a hero arose to save the world. A young man with a mysterious heritage courageously challenged the darkness that strangled the land. He failed.

For a thousand years since, the world has been a wasteland of ash and mist ruled by the immortal emperor known as the Lord Ruler. Every revolt has failed miserably. Yet somehow, hope survives. Hope that dares to dream of ending the empire and even the Lord Ruler himself. A new kind of uprising is being planned, one built around the ultimate caper, one that depends on the cunning of a brilliant criminal mastermind and the determination of an unlikely heroine, a street urchin who must learn to master Allomancy, the power of a Mistborn.

My Review:

5 of 5 Stars

I chose this series to read fairly randomly off of a shelf and because I saw three books were available without searching.  This story puts a new spin on a classic sort of idea that’s done in any number of other stories.  Much in the way of Harry Potter, Star Wars, the underdog character is told the have some kind of ability and can in fact save the whole world.  The fact it’s done differently and done well sold me on the series. I don’t mind that it’s using the same general idea as some others.

I became engaged with every character, even the ones I really didn’t like.  The action that is involved is completely immersive – it’s somewhat fast paced but has more than enough world building to understand all of the various parts.  I learned what Allomancy was as well as how it worked right along with Vin, one of the main characters.  I became attached to these characters I began thinking of as people.  Sazed is probably one of my favorite characters in any book -ever.  He’s right up there with Spock and Loki on my list of character crushes.

One big flag for me of a series I love is if while reading it I become so oblivious to the world around me, I don’t even notice people staring at me because I giggle or gasp or tear up.  Another flag is if I’m willing to lose great amounts of sleep and in the end have no idea how to function when the book inevitably ends.

In good news there are more books in this series though set many more years in the future. These new books are The Alloy of Law (Published), Shadow of Self (Expected in 2015), Bands of Mourning (Expected in 2016).






One thought on “Review: Mistborn Series

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s