Review: The Very Thought of You

 

The Very Thought of You

by Kim Taylor Blakemore

Source: Netgalley

Goodreads Summary:

After the loss of her partner Evelyn, Helen set love aside for good. But the iron hold she has on her heart is shaken by a chance encounter with a vivacious secretary and the return of a past lover.

My Review:

2 of 5 Stars

This is one of those books where you read and choose your path, skipping around through sections of the book.  I love these because it makes me feel like I have some sort of decision in where the story goes.  It’s about love and grief, in a lesbian couple, in a period of time when such things were highly shunned.  I really enjoyed getting a small peek in on what it might have been like to be a woman in this era.  Throwing the lesbian spin into this was a big plus for me.  In the end though I felt that it was an experience of going to one of those expensive restaurants and looking at your little appetizer with the fancy name (tapas) and thinking.. but I want more.   I love the idea of this book – but because of the shortness it’s just not enough to get me involved.  I never became close to a character because it was over too fast.  I even went through every possible way to get through the book and honestly, for me, this just made it worse.  Every ending I found ended happily ever after.  I wanted at least one path to have a disastrous ending, an ending which screamed you’ve made the wrong choices.  I wouldn’t say I regret reading this, but it wasn’t satisfying either.  I will admit that novellas might not be for me but if you enjoy these short stories or flash fiction this will be an excellent read for you.

 

 FTC Disclosure: I received this free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  This in no way influenced my opinion of the book and I was provided with no other compensation.  

 

One thought on “Review: The Very Thought of You

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

