Review: Hinges Book One: Clockwork City


 Hinges: Book 1 Clockwork City (Hinges, #1) 

Meredith McClaren

Source: ARC from Netgalley

Rating: 4 Stars

 

Summary (From Goodreads):

HINGES is a fantasy webcomic, turned graphic novel, about a doll named Orio and her troubling companion Bauble. New to the city of Cobble, Orio must depend on help where ever she can find it, but her assigned familiar Bauble has other interests. And as the two explore the walls of their city, they find that they are not the only new arrivals. In a place that runs like clockwork, it only takes a little disruption to upend a city.

Artwork:

What’s strange for me is that while I liked the artwork because all of it was very close in color range sometimes it became harder for me to pick out a lot of the details.  There are major sections where there is no speech and the story is pushed forward with only the different frames.  I wouldn’t normally have a problem with this but there were a few I became confused as to what was happening.

Characters:

Even with big gaps of no text I felt I got a real sense of some of the characters.  Orio, the main character, seems very timid and shy and alarmed by everything around her.  Her odd Bauble doesn’t seem to match her personality at all in the beginning but once you go farther it becomes more clear that they both just need a place to belong and feel cared for.  Margo on the other hand is no nonsense which is a big difference to Alluet who is who is entirely bubbles and cheer.  I could really feel for Orio the entire time – being thrust into this unknown world and dealing with lots of anxiety.

Overall Review:

This story reminded me a bit of Lilo and Stitch meets Curious George but twisted.  I really liked the doll aspect of the entire community and wanted to be able to read more about that.  The artwork kind of threw me but I still really enjoyed the story as a build up and world builder to what may happen next.  I would for sure pick up a second volume to see how Orio continues to adjust to the community and how Bauble most likely get in all kinds of more trouble.

 

 FTC Disclosure: I received this free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  This in no way influenced my opinion of the book and I was provided with no other compensation.  

Leave a Reply

