Review: Birthright Volume 1 – Homecoming

Birthright Volume 1 : Homecoming

by Joshua Williamson, Andrei Bressan

Source: Netgalley

Rating: 4 Stars

 

My Summary:

This is a really interesting story about a boy named Mikey who seemingly randomly goes missing one day while playing catch with his father.  While this is tragic things get even more so when he also seemingly randomly returns.

Artwork:

I enjoyed some of the artwork – especially the fantasy side of it.  There is a lot of blood in this and it only seems to grow in amount as the story continues.  I did find the general character drawings of the parents to be a bit odd – it could be my own perception though.  The parents and the older brother of Mikey did seem distinctly different than Mikey which was a bit weird but also understandable.

Review:

I really enjoyed this and was left with my jaw hanging open after the last page which is both awesome and frustrating!  My biggest issue was mainly with some of it being a bit too over the top.  I had wished that the time gap between Mikey going missing and returning had been longer – it would have explained some of the drastic changes that occurred in his absence.  I also think there could have been more details surrounding the allegations against Mikey’s father.  The police wouldn’t have these thoughts without some kind of evidence to back them up other than same location along with the further allegations in the family itself.  Overall though I really enjoyed it and am looking forward to continuing the story to find out what happens next!

 

 FTC Disclosure: I received this free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  This in no way influenced my opinion of the book and I was provided with no other compensation.  

Leave a Reply

