Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Recent TBR Additions

toptentuesday

I’m joining in on the top ten Tuesday meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish – this weeks top ten list is ten books I’ve recently added to my TBR pile.  This one required me to do a bit of digging because I honestly couldn’t remember anything off the of my head.  After digging though it was hard to narrow it down to only  ten!

book1

  1. Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone – This is a young adult novel including some mental health issues.  This book isn’t going to be published until June 16th but I was lucky enough to get an ARC from the publisher via Netgalley.
  2. Midnight Crossroad by Charlaine Harris & the next in the series :
  3. Day Shift by Charlane Harris – I really liked what I’ve read of the Sookie Stackhouse series so when I saw Day Shift I for sure wanted to check out this trilogy set in a dried up western town in Texas.  Plus there are more vampires in this series and I’m very excited to read them.  Day shift isn’t set to be published until May 5th but I’m again lucky enough to have an ARC copy given generously by the publisher through Netgalley.  The only downside is the inevitable wait for the third book!book2
  4. Dark Places by Gillian Flynn – I’ve not actually read any of Gillian Flynn as of yet but I’ve heard a lot about her other books like Gone Girl and Sharp Objects (which are also somewhere in my tbr pile).  I don’t know a lot about these books but I’m very curious to see if I like them as much as others.
  5. The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis – I’ve been trying to find a classic that falls into satire without much luck and when I was browsing the other day I struck upon this book.  I’m super curious about this book because it’s written in the perspective of demons themselves which I think will be incredibly interesting.
  6. Narnia Series by C.S. Lewis –  I’d read some of this when I was younger but recently I picked them up again and started in chronological order rather than by publication date.   I absolutely loved The Magicians Nephew (see my review) – perhaps because I’m older and can understand the concepts more easily now.  These are fairly short books so I’m excited to power through them.  book3
  7. Chosen by Denise Grover Swank – This caught my eye as a free book from Amazon.  As of me writing this it’s still free but it can change any time – you can find it here.  I don’t know a lot about the book but it caught me at paranormal thriller/romance.  It’s the first book in a series and while I usually avoid these I impulsively grabbed it anyway.
  8. Lost ( Cinderella’s Secret Witch Diaries) – This is another series and a fantasy retelling.  I’ve been incredibly interested in fairy tale retellings recently.  At first I was a bit hesitant with this one based on some reviews but I grabbed it anyway since I tend to like quite a variety of things that may others hate.  (Twilight does come to mind here, ha ).  This one is also available for free as of the writing of this and you can grab it here.  Also you can get the second book of this series Stolen for free by subscribing to the authors newsletter – go here to get in on that deal.
  9. I Have People by Taylor Dean – What first made me want to grab this from Amazon (other than it was free at the time) was how beautiful I found the cover to be.  It’s another that I’m not really understanding the plot by the summary all that well but I know it does cover domestic abuse in some extent.  It’s no longer free but it is only $3.99 as of right now and you can grab that here.
  10. Autonomously Yours: The Life of a Compandroid by K.N. Parker – Robots, artificial intelligence, drama, tragedy – all told through the eyes of the first ever compandroid.  I have pretty high hopes for this book.  It’s no longer free but right now it’s $2.99 and you can grab that here.  You can also jump in on the giveaway going on at Goodreads – just click the title above and head on over.
4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Recent TBR Additions

  1. If you’re into Narnia, may I recommend another book for your TBR? I read THE MAGICIAN’S BOOK: A SKEPTIC’S ADVENTURES IN NARNIA last year, and I absolutely loved it. I can’t recommend it enough.

    Like

Leave a Reply

