Review: The Magician’s Nephew

The Magician's Nephew
The Magician’s Nephew by C.S. Lewis
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I admit to being a bit nervous going into this book. I’ve attempted this series in the past as a teenager and never really was caught up by it. This time I decided to read the story in chronological order rather than the order of publication. As an adult I’m understanding quite a bit more of the correlation between this and stories from the bible. I can understand where some will dislike the very simplistic nature of good vs evil. These ideas are very basic and shallow in this book – they aren’t explained fully. For myself this was almost a refreshing change from the in depth details of what evil is that I find elsewhere.

I’m also looking at this from the perspective of something I’d feel comfortable reading with younger children. Perhaps a foundation to start discussions about faith and what good is, what evil is. It’s hardly the entire discussion in one series or book but it’s a very good start. I’m highly anticipating the rest of the series.

 

One thought on “Review: The Magician’s Nephew

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Recent TBR Additions | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

