Review: Akarnae

Akarnae
Akarnae by Lynette Noni
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Click Here for official book Summary

Disclosure: I received this free from Netgalley

Plot: I loved the concept of this story – the entire idea of traveling to another world or dimension is something I love.  That being said this reminded me almost too much of other books like Harry Potter – just with different wording.  Instead of having actual magic it was science – fantasy science (clever way of saying magic isn’t it?).  It wasn’t bad, but I felt it was just some of the same kinds of things (which isn’t bad really) labeled differently.  Because of that it just came off as trying perhaps a bit too hard. Methinks thou dost protest too much on thy magical topics.

Writing: I felt like the writing was a bit a bit hit and miss.  In some areas it was an incredibly simple style and grammar.  Yet in others more complex words were used that either made no sense to me or just seemed unneccesary.  On top of this there were times that the same concepts were explained over and over again which was mildly irritating – like I was being talked down to almost as the reader.

Characters:  I feel like I could have ignored most of the rest of the irritating parts of this book had the characters themselves not driven me quite so crazy.  In many instances I wanted to shake Alex to get her to pay attention and quit being so completely unobservant and naive.  There were instances when no matter how much she’d already been through she was still shocked by the most simple of things.  She stumbled around constantly and didn’t seem to have a clue as to what was going on through most of the book.  It’s really sad when I feel the need to say that even Bella in twilight seemed to be more aware of her situation in a story.  None of the characters really drew me in all that much but most of them reminded me of at least one character in Harry Potter if not more than one mashed into one character.

Favorites:  I liked when Alex was visiting with Bears family (even if this was another case of it reminding me so much of Harry Potter).  I really appreciated being able to see something outside of the school and into the regular culture of Madora.

Overall:  I’ve spoken a lot so far about all these things I didn’t like about the book.  Quite a few things irritated me.  More than once I wondered why I kept reading it when I found so many flaws.  I came to the conclusion that I did want to know what happened and if I stopped reading I’d never know.  I can’t give it a three star but I do wish I could bump it up to 2.5.  While I didn’t like the characters very much I’m interested in where the story might go and liked a lot of the general ideas in the book.  Plus, I’m a complete library nerd so that helped a lot – the library in this book is more than a little interesting to say the least.  I will probably keep an eye out for the next book and add it to my never ending shelf of books to read.  I like to call books like this junk food for the brain – it’s not epic, but it’s a decent light read.

 FTC Disclosure: I received this free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  This in no way influenced my opinion of the book and I was provided with no other compensation.  

Leave a Reply

