Review: Star Trek: Ongoing, Volume 9: The Q Gambit

Star Trek: Ongoing, Volume 9: The Q Gambit
Star Trek: Ongoing, Volume 9: The Q Gambit by Mike Johnson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Disclosure: I received this free from Netgalley

Summary: The crew of the new Star Trek film franchise encounters the classic villain Q for the first time in this galaxy-spanning adventure developed in association with screenwriter/producer Roberto Orci! The mischievous Q sends James T. Kirk on a quest that will see the Enterprise joining forces with familiar faces from Star Trek lore.

Review: First, I admit I am not all that knowledgeable about Star Trek culture in general and had to ask my boyfriend to identify characters quite a few times. That being said I really liked this and how it combined characters from many different shows into one story. The artwork was okay, but it wasn’t anything super special. I felt a lot of times the characters lacked a bit of facial expression but this might just be the style that was aimed for. That being said – it’s inspiring me to dig up some of these shows to watch them, and anything that does that must be pretty good!

 FTC Disclosure: I received this free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  This in no way influenced my opinion of the book and I was provided with no other compensation.  

Leave a Reply

