Review: In Search of Lost Dragons

In Search of Lost Dragons
In Search of Lost Dragons by Élian Black’mor

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Disclosure: I received this free from Netgalley

Summary:  On the trail of dragons forgotten, an intrepid illustrator and reporter journeys from Europe through the Middle East and finally to Saigon in search of the dark caverns and mountaintop perches where the elusive winged serpents dwell. With the gift of seeing the invisible, our explorer friend records each encounter in a journal of gorgeous, fully painted artwork, capturing every majestic and fearsome visual detail of the scaly behemoths, and accompanies his findings with snippets of local lore as evidence that these hidden beasts continue to shape the world in ways we may never expect!

Writing/ Artwork: This book is a bit different than what I normally read.  It’s written entirely in the style of a journal complete with notes, sketches, taped in photos, letters, posters, etc.  It all combines to make it really feel you are reading some adventurer’s personal journal.  The artwork is incredible – everything ranging from full double paged paintings to small sketches.

Favorites: My favorite part of all of it was the little additional things that seem to be ‘taped in’.  I thought this was incredibly clever and really added to the realism of this being a journal.  You’ll find photos, posters about rewards for dragons, notes that are taped in, sketched pages that are taped in.. it just goes on.

Overall:  I really loved this – the artwork was amazing, and I loved the general idea of it.  That’s why it’s surprising me to say – I really would have been able to appreciate this even more as a physical copy of the book.  This is not one that I recommend at all as an ebook even though it is very enjoyable as such.  The biggest reason for this is the type of print used which is meant to look hand written (and is beautiful) and slightly difficult to read via any kind of screen.  On top of this there are quite a few double page drawings and things that over lap and I had the choice of not being able to read the print or not being able to see both pages at once.  That being said – I loved it and will for sure be putting this one on my birthday list!

 FTC Disclosure: I received this free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  This in no way influenced my opinion of the book and I was provided with no other compensation.  

Leave a Reply

