Review: Becoming One: A Story of Triumph Over Dissociative Identity Disorder

Becoming One: A Story of Triumph Over Dissociative Identity Disorder
Becoming One: A Story of Triumph Over Dissociative Identity Disorder by Sarah E. Olson

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Disclosure: I received this book free from NetGalley

I admit I went into this book with some fairly negative thoughts in mind. Living as someone with DID and knowing others with DID, and having read a fair number of books, memoirs, and more on the topic – none of which really felt like they fit ‘me’ – I did not have high hopes for this either. But, out of sheer curiosity I decided to have a go at it. What I found so interesting about the book and why it differs from so many available is that it has a mixture of both speaking about the history that resulted in the DID as well as focusing on the healing. At no point in the book did I feel drowned in either psychology or overtly graphic narratives of abuse. At the same time, neither was sugar coated – it had a feeling of being very real to me. I went into this being very skeptical but now know it’s a book I will most likely reference again and again for quite some time and most likely involve in my own journey to healing.

 FTC Disclosure: I received this free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  This in no way influenced my opinion of the book and I was provided with no other compensation.  

2 thoughts on “Review: Becoming One: A Story of Triumph Over Dissociative Identity Disorder

  1. Pingback: 5 Star Review of “Becoming One” at Glorious Panic! » Third of a Lifetime

  2. Pingback: Thoughtful Thursday: Mental Health in Media | Glorious Panic

Leave a Reply

