Review: The Here and Now

The Here and Now
The Here and Now by Ann Brashares

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

While I wouldn’t say this was a super epic read and the ending left me hanging (and okay a bit frustrated!) I really enjoyed the story. I think the general writing was geared toward a much younger crowd than myself – probably young to mid teens. The style of writing and even the story itself wasn’t overly deep but it was still very interesting and an easy and quick read. What I really enjoyed was the time travel and the impact of it all as well as the society that’s created among the community. The only negative I found was it was perhaps too simplistic for such a heavy topic and many of the various events could have been covered in a more detailed manner. I could see this easily becoming a series if everything was explained out more deeply. Without this it almost seemed rushed and without enough detail to get a grip on certain significant markers in the plot (IE the act of time traveling, what was going on before the time leap, etc.). Over all I thought it was a fun read and I enjoyed it as something light.

I received this free from Netgalley

 FTC Disclosure: I received this free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  This in no way influenced my opinion of the book and I was provided with no other compensation.  

Leave a Reply

